GM Longroof Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  PortalPortal  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Repairing My Disassembled AC System

Go down 
+3
buickwagon
jayoldschool
Bull
7 posters
AuthorMessage
Bull

Bull

Repairing My Disassembled AC System Empty
PostSubject: Repairing My Disassembled AC System   Repairing My Disassembled AC System Icon_minitimeTue Jul 01, 2014 1:15 pm

I am intimidated by this job; I have never done any AC work before. Last year I thought I was going to get my AC working, thinking it just needed some basic service. Then I discovered that the compressor is actually missing. I do not know the condition of the other pieces, except that I believe they are present.

How many beers are required for this job of installing a new compressor and then figuring out after that how to hook up and troubleshoot everything?

I don't absolutely need AC, but it's nice on the summer days to have it if I need to drive my kids anywhere. My one-year-old doesn't need to suffer for her father's love of raggedy old American cars.
Back to top Go down
jayoldschool

jayoldschool

PostSubject: Re: Repairing My Disassembled AC System   Repairing My Disassembled AC System Icon_minitimeTue Jul 01, 2014 2:35 pm

Flush would be prudent. New compressor, new accumulator, new orifice tube. Hoses if they aren't there! New gaskets on the back of the compressor (they are cheap, but they will be included with a hose set). Fill components with appropriate amounts of oil per FSM. Buy a pump and gauges from Harbor Freight. Pull vacuum. Hold vacuum to ensure no leaks. Charge per FSM chart (around 2500rpm, it will take about 2.5 cans). AC is no tougher than any other job on cars once you know how things work.
Back to top Go down
Bull

Bull