HomeHome  PortalPortal  CalendarCalendar  GalleryGallery  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Share | 

transmission dripping ugh...

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Studebricker

PostSubject: transmission dripping ugh...   Thu Apr 12, 2018 5:50 pm

Hey guys, this problem started last summer sometime and has just gotten progressively worse. At first I just noticed the smell, but couldn't see any dripping or leaks. A few months ago, it got to the point where I was topping off the trans fluid with maybe half a quart every 3 or 4 weeks. Anyway, I looked up the info here about the trans on my 94 RMW and it said on the list of issues, that sometimes a leak near the front can be some kind of pump bushing coming out? I have never heard of that, but I'm no expert by any means.

At first I had thought the pan gasket was bad, so I changed that out, but it only drips while running and a bit after. It doesn't drip nonstop. The car has 95k miles on it, so I guess I'm just surprised that the transmission would start leaking like this. The solution for this, on the sticky, said you have to have the transmission pulled and rebuilt. Which is obviously not good. Is there anything else I can check before spending major cash? On a side note, does anyone know someone reputable in the Dallas/Fort Worth area that can do this kind of work?

One side note, does the trans dipstick on everyone's car twist several times instead of being flat? It was that way when I got the car and I don't get why they would have designed it that way, or what's the purpose?

Lastly, my ultimate plan for the car was, at some point, having it converted to a 6 speed manual. If this trans needs to rebuilt, would it be easier/cheaper to just have it replaced with the manual? Has anyone here had that conversion done?  Thanks much.