HomeHome  PortalPortal  CalendarCalendar  GalleryGallery  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Share | 
 

 opinions of alt. color

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
mtrhead79

avatar

Posts : 1482
Join date : 2010-04-24
Age : 48
Location : phila. pa

PostSubject: opinions of alt. color   Fri May 18, 2012 11:56 am

i am going to powder coat my alternator this afternoon not sure if blue or red. can you give me your choice.
the motor is blue met. the intake is red and my new valve covers are polished alum. with red chevrolet script(not in pics) and i have a blue throttle body cover. i have some of the same red i powder coated the intake with or i can go blue powder coat not the exact same blue as mtr i had used spray paint for mtr







so let me know what you think
Back to top Go down
http://mtrhead79@aol.com
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: opinions of alt. color   Fri May 18, 2012 12:07 pm

Red definitly and since you already have the red powder left!Beautiful engine by the way as is all your work pictured.WOW I like a lot!
Back to top Go down
mtrhead79

avatar

Posts : 1482
Join date : 2010-04-24
Age : 48
Location : phila. pa

PostSubject: Re: opinions of alt. color   Fri May 18, 2012 1:04 pm

thanks for kind words jim. i am leaning towards red also, the blue will not be exact same color and might look like alot of different shades
Back to top Go down
http://mtrhead79@aol.com
Sprocket

avatar

Posts : 5311
Join date : 2008-11-04
Location : Palm Beach County

PostSubject: Re: opinions of alt. color   Fri May 18, 2012 1:10 pm

u want to make it red by what you said...soooooo go for it
Back to top Go down
mtrhead79

avatar

Posts : 1482
Join date : 2010-04-24
Age : 48
Location : phila. pa

PostSubject: Re: opinions of alt. color   Fri May 18, 2012 3:29 pm

was just trying to see what would look best. it is a pain to remove it. i went red so here are some pics out of oven need to put back together. 1 little spot did not get covered i touched it with my finger when it was going into oven but a little red paint and you want notice. i hope


taking apart



Back to top Go down
http://mtrhead79@aol.com
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: opinions of alt. color   Fri May 18, 2012 4:00 pm

Are you using the eastwood kit or one of the chinese offerings.I have seen some beautiful
powdering done with the eastwood kit.Only bad thing is the hell your wife puts you thru
for using her oven.A close friend of my kid brother ended up buying his wife a new stove,
which I think was her plan all along.Would love to get my SS wheels done the same color as
my OCC.
Back to top Go down
sherlock9c1



Posts : 1970
Join date : 2009-05-28
Location : Huntsville, AL

PostSubject: Re: opinions of alt. color   Fri May 18, 2012 5:32 pm

Make sure the bearings still work after you put them in the oven. In my case they didn't and I took it to an electrical shop to have them replaced. One other point - be darn sure of how you put the diode assemblies back in the back of the case. Fortunately for me the alternator rebuilder caught my mistake before I set anything on fire.

My two cents (although it's too late) - the B-car LT1 alternator is an utter eyesore that detracts from the otherwise beautiful LT1 engine so I paint it black.
Back to top Go down
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: opinions of alt. color   Fri May 18, 2012 6:09 pm

Never have liked where they ended up mounting it either!More GM cost cutting probably.
Back to top Go down
BigBlackBeaSSt

avatar

Posts : 4512
Join date : 2009-08-01
Age : 51
Location : Lewisberry, PA

PostSubject: Re: opinions of alt. color   Fri May 18, 2012 6:28 pm

Pink is your color...... Wink
Back to top Go down
matthimself456



Posts : 81
Join date : 2010-07-14

PostSubject: Re: opinions of alt. color   Fri May 18, 2012 6:34 pm

I was going to say green to match the hoses but too late...
Back to top Go down
1phastsswagon

avatar

Posts : 770
Join date : 2011-10-19
Age : 48
Location : Concord North Carolina 28081

PostSubject: Re: opinions of alt. color   Fri May 18, 2012 8:45 pm

Here's my .02 cents. Strip it & Polish it. Twisted Evil
Back to top Go down
https://sites.google.com/site/carissmacom/home
BigBlackBeaSSt

avatar

Posts : 4512
Join date : 2009-08-01
Age : 51
Location : Lewisberry, PA

PostSubject: Re: opinions of alt. color   Fri May 18, 2012 9:13 pm

Like this??

Back to top Go down
1phastsswagon

avatar

Posts : 770
Join date : 2011-10-19
Age : 48
Location : Concord North Carolina 28081

PostSubject: Re: opinions of alt. color   Fri May 18, 2012 9:58 pm

YUP Just LIKE THAT cyclops
Back to top Go down
https://sites.google.com/site/carissmacom/home
mtrhead79

avatar

Posts : 1482
Join date : 2010-04-24
Age : 48
Location : phila. pa

PostSubject: Re: opinions of alt. color   Fri May 18, 2012 10:33 pm

i pulled the bearing so not a issue. i use to rebuild gm starters when i was in high school for a alt. and starter shop. i picked up a little about alternators from watching others. i have it all back together but i will pull the pulley again it is alittle marked up on its front. i am going to sand it and get rid of the marks and powder coat it. oh by the way i do have a eastwood gun it is one of the early ones. i use to have a oven when i rented a shop but now i use the house oven. here are some done shots






pics make it look moor like orange but it is red
Back to top Go down
http://mtrhead79@aol.com
BigBlackBeaSSt

avatar

Posts : 4512
Join date : 2009-08-01
Age : 51
Location : Lewisberry, PA

PostSubject: Re: opinions of alt. color   Fri May 18, 2012 10:35 pm

very nice
Back to top Go down
mtrhead79

avatar

Posts : 1482
Join date : 2010-04-24
Age : 48
Location : phila. pa

PostSubject: Re: opinions of alt. color   Fri May 18, 2012 10:35 pm

oh bye the way the cooling fan on alt is ugly wish i could have powder coated it but had to paint it
Back to top Go down
http://mtrhead79@aol.com
lakeffect
Moderator
avatar

Posts : 3772
Join date : 2009-08-18
Location : Rochester NY 14621

PostSubject: Re: opinions of alt. color   Fri May 18, 2012 10:41 pm

RED
Back to top Go down
1phastsswagon

avatar

Posts : 770
Join date : 2011-10-19
Age : 48
Location : Concord North Carolina 28081

PostSubject: Re: opinions of alt. color   Fri May 18, 2012 10:48 pm

Could always save up some pennies, and get a billet one. This belongs to one of our CarISSMA Club Members. He powder coated his alt, and all his pullyes, and acc. brackets

Back to top Go down
https://sites.google.com/site/carissmacom/home
jimbeau



Posts : 1181
Join date : 2010-06-25
Location : Detroit

PostSubject: Re: opinions of alt. color   Sat May 19, 2012 7:15 am

mtrhead79 wrote:
i





That looks superb!!!

Flasheroo wrote:
Never have liked where they ended up mounting it either!More GM cost cutting probably.
Where else could they have hid it? The reason for the opti and all the other compactness of the L99/LT1 was to squeeze into a corvette.
Heck, the AC compressor and PS pump are already mounted so beautifully that you can't access them.

Regarding the 'ugliness' of these alternators, they are some really stout, well-made units.
I have a story of my stupidity that I'll relate in another thread.
.
Back to top Go down
brokecello
Moderator
avatar

Posts : 3229
Join date : 2009-05-28
Age : 38
Location : Greenville, SC

PostSubject: Re: opinions of alt. color   Sat May 19, 2012 8:25 am

I like the red...looking good!!!!!
Back to top Go down
http://www.ChrisPowellmusic.com
mtrhead79

avatar

Posts : 1482
Join date : 2010-04-24
Age : 48
Location : phila. pa

PostSubject: Re: opinions of alt. color   Sat May 19, 2012 8:45 am

thanks for complements. 1phastsswagon do you know where he got that overflow tank. they could have mounted the alt. down low on drivers side and got rid of air pump
Back to top Go down
http://mtrhead79@aol.com
1phastsswagon

avatar

Posts : 770
Join date : 2011-10-19
Age : 48
Location : Concord North Carolina 28081

PostSubject: Re: opinions of alt. color   Sat May 19, 2012 10:06 am

John,
He made the overflow tank, Really neat how he redesigned the whole cooling system which includes temp/pressure gauges, sights, and has an electric water pump.
Back to top Go down
https://sites.google.com/site/carissmacom/home
mtrhead79

avatar

Posts : 1482
Join date : 2010-04-24
Age : 48
Location : phila. pa

PostSubject: Re: opinions of alt. color   Sat May 19, 2012 4:59 pm

i want to get rid of my overflow tank and get something nicer eventually
Back to top Go down
http://mtrhead79@aol.com
1phastsswagon

avatar

Posts : 770
Join date : 2011-10-19
Age : 48
Location : Concord North Carolina 28081

PostSubject: Re: opinions of alt. color   Sun May 20, 2012 12:35 am

Canton has a few

https://www.cantonracingproducts.com/cgi-bin/commerce.cgi?preadd=action&key=80-224

https://www.cantonracingproducts.com/cgi-bin/commerce.cgi?preadd=action&key=80-225
Back to top Go down
https://sites.google.com/site/carissmacom/home
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: opinions of alt. color   

Back to top Go down
 
opinions of alt. color
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Unpopular Fame Opinions You Hold
» OPINIONS/COMMENTS on the 3 Jun 2014 NVC Report
» How to change text font and color in category and forum on PhpBB 3
» Change default username color?
» Chatbox Color

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
GM Longroof Forum :: Longroof Tech :: Wagon General Discussion-
Jump to: