HomeHome  PortalPortal  CalendarCalendar  GalleryGallery  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Share | 
 

 your opinion wanted on my potential purchase

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
59 wagon man

avatar

Posts : 105
Join date : 2011-07-13

PostSubject: your opinion wanted on my potential purchase   Sun Jun 30, 2013 5:24 pm

i have the chance to get a 1993 buick roadmaster loaded but it supposedly has a lower end knock. car is fairly clean blue with wood sides and a tan interiorni think it is 8 pass seating . interior is clean but has a rip in the drivers seat. $5oo what do you think ? how tough of a job is an engine change in one of these ?
Back to top Go down
silverfox103
Moderator
avatar

Posts : 2619
Join date : 2008-11-05
Age : 68
Location : Littleton, NH & St. Simons, GA

PostSubject: Re: your opinion wanted on my potential purchase   Sun Jun 30, 2013 6:29 pm

You probably can't go wrong for $500. Sounds like the body and interior other than the seat are in decent shape. I haven't R & R'd a wagon engine (only removed), but don't think it would be a bad job. You said it "supposedly has a lower end knock". It could be something else. They are notorious for exhaust manifold leaks that can sound like a knock.

Tom C.
Back to top Go down
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: your opinion wanted on my potential purchase   Sun Jun 30, 2013 6:34 pm

If its rust free then grab it for 500 bucks.
Back to top Go down
59 wagon man

avatar

Posts : 105
Join date : 2011-07-13

PostSubject: Re: your opinion wanted on my potential purchase   Sun Jun 30, 2013 6:41 pm

the guy says now the lowest he will go is 600 but the body is clean no big dents just some of the rubber strips are laying in the back. wierd thing is he said the fuel pressure dropped and then the motor started knocking
Back to top Go down
JoeT

avatar

Posts : 580
Join date : 2010-03-06
Age : 60
Location : 48098

PostSubject: Re: your opinion wanted on my potential purchase   Sun Jun 30, 2013 6:46 pm

How does he know the fuel pressure dropped? I wonder if it has an oil pressure gauge and doesn't understand what he's looking at....

If the fuel pressure drops, they'll usually refuse to start or they will stall/not run faster than idle.

Fuel pumps are common repair item on these things. It's a pain in the butt job, but WAY easier than an engine replacement.

If it's rust-free (or nearly rust-free), I don't think you can go wrong at that price.

My $.02: offer the $500 again and don't be afraid to walk away if he says no.
Back to top Go down
silverfox103
Moderator
avatar

Posts : 2619
Join date : 2008-11-05
Age : 68
Location : Littleton, NH & St. Simons, GA

PostSubject: Re: your opinion wanted on my potential purchase   Sun Jun 30, 2013 6:56 pm

Should be rust free, I believe 59 wagon man is from GA.

Tom
Back to top Go down
Fred Kiehl

avatar

Posts : 4266
Join date : 2009-11-13
Age : 68
Location : Largo, FL 33774

PostSubject: Re: your opinion wanted on my potential purchase   Sun Jun 30, 2013 8:57 pm

If you are going to swap engines, put an LQ4 in it with the corresponding trans and fuel pump. The cost will be similar, and you will get an 145~155 HP increase. There are some wiring changes, but it is not that difficult, and the performance is exceptional. With a few aftermarket parts, and a tune, you can get 445 HP without much trouble. It will still run on regular gas as well.

If the interior color is not the camel color, it is a one year color, so it might be a little difficult to find parts for.

As mentioned above the fuel pressure can not be checked unless you install a 91/2 FW (LO3/5 engine) fuel line, or one from a 93 FW. They both have Schrader valves on the lines.

They are all 8 seat cars.
Back to top Go down
phantom 309

avatar

Posts : 5641
Join date : 2008-12-28
Age : 107

PostSubject: Re: your opinion wanted on my potential purchase   Mon Jul 01, 2013 2:01 am

It's a small block chevy,. easy to change,.
Back to top Go down
Sprocket

avatar

Posts : 5300
Join date : 2008-11-04
Location : Palm Beach County

PostSubject: Re: your opinion wanted on my potential purchase   Mon Jul 01, 2013 4:21 pm

He's local to me (inside 30 miles) and I've seen the car he's talking about listed on CL for the past few weeks.  Scrap value on these cars loacally is about 500-600, so even if it is the motor, you can't lose (just strip piecy parts and junk).  Yes, it could be the exhaust manifold bolts.
Mine sounds pretty bad until they heat up and then it quiets right down (Chris will attest as it was like that when he got it, lol).
 
I believe it's 22 bolts including the four holding the hood on. Smile At least on the LT1 cars...can't imagine more on the TBI
 
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: your opinion wanted on my potential purchase   

Back to top Go down
 
your opinion wanted on my potential purchase
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Just wanted to say hello
» Wanted: Camera
» WANTED: All black version of WWII USMC Stiletto
» Milk wanted in Portland
» WANTED: Wet Nurse / Nanny in DFW

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
GM Longroof Forum :: Longroof Tech :: Wagon General Discussion-
Jump to: