GM Longroof Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  PortalPortal  GalleryGallery  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  

compatible non-air bag steering wheel?

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
Grizwald

compatible non-air bag steering wheel? Empty
PostSubject: compatible non-air bag steering wheel?   compatible non-air bag steering wheel? Icon_minitimeSun Oct 03, 2021 12:39 pm

Hi friends,
I have owned the Grizwald('94 Roadmaster wagon) now for 14-1/2 years. The horn has again failed. Will blow on it's own. I purchased a refurbished air bag assy. five years ago and it was quite expensive. I want to this time try something different.
I was an all-makes GM parts manager for many years and I have a memory of late 80s and early 90s larger Buicks having an attractive steering wheel with a rectangular non-air bag horn pad that spanned from side-to-side at about 3 and 9 o'clock. But I can't remember specific applications.

Has anybody tried these and are they a direct bolt on??

Are there any other period Buick steering wheels(less air bag) that are direct bolt on?

I have watched a video of an install of momentary switches in the steering wheel foam but I don't like the looks of that set-up.

I feel very vulnerable without an operating horn and would gladly sacrifice the driver air bag. I have read the posts about installing a resistor to fool the system and maintain the operation of the passenger bag.

Any help is much appreciated,
Dan

Back to top Go down
jayoldschool

jayoldschool

PostSubject: Re: compatible non-air bag steering wheel?   compatible non-air bag steering wheel? Icon_minitimeSun Oct 03, 2021 2:23 pm

The Regal T Type wheel is popular. You can also use 80s-90s Jeep steering wheel, they use B body steering columns. Lots of nice three spoke designs, and then stick on a buick emblem.