GM Longroof Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  PortalPortal  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  

1992 Buick Roadmaster rear gear swap.

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
letrbuk

letrbuk

1992 Buick Roadmaster rear gear swap. Empty
PostSubject: 1992 Buick Roadmaster rear gear swap.   1992 Buick Roadmaster rear gear swap. Icon_minitimeTue Mar 28, 2017 1:08 pm

I have a 1992 Buick Roadmaster wagon currently it has 2.73 gears and I am looking at swapping to 3.42's. My abs doesn't work now so I'm not worried about getting the right reluctor ring. My question is will the car have to be reprogrammed since it's a 1992? I know I'll have to change the speedo gear to keep the gauge correct. I'm not sure what controls TC lockup on my car. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks, Kevin
Back to top Go down
Fred Kiehl

Fred Kiehl

PostSubject: Re: 1992 Buick Roadmaster rear gear swap.   1992 Buick Roadmaster rear gear swap. Icon_minitimeTue Mar 28, 2017 9:06 pm

The TC lockup is controlled partially by the computer and by the throttle position. You will not have to change anything for the TC lockup to work.

You may need to change the VSS drive gear because the largest driven gear you can get is a 44 tooth. Driven gears are a little difficult to find. There are some on ebay.

3.23s use an 18 tooth drive, and 42 tooth driven gear. The 2.73s use an 18 tooth drive gear, and a 36 tooth drive gear. My 92 has 29 inch tires and 2.73s with stock gears, and reads 2 MPH fast. With 28 inch tires it read about 6 MPH fast, so the ratio is not all that close. I think the stock gears for the 2.73 ratio is wrong, and a 37 tooth driven gear would work better with the 28 inch tires.