GM Longroof Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  PortalPortal  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Engine build possibilities

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
booster

Engine build possibilities Empty
PostSubject: Engine build possibilities   Engine build possibilities Icon_minitimeMon May 25, 2020 12:03 pm

I have been following the "can an engineer build a motor" thread with interest to find out the typical directions taken on the LT1 motors.

Interesting to see the way the build is going, as I am also an engineer (mechanical, retired) and totally understand the thought processes Laughing . In the engineering world, attention to obscure details often determines if and how well things work out, or not.

I have not dug into any of the the engine builds on the forum, just this one for the most part, so limited exposure to the different styles of builds. My high performance engine building was for decades focused on twin turbo Mopar small block V8s, and IMO there is a lot of similarities in builds for them if you want the best in street manners and in moderate output builds for heavy vehicles. Much of that similarity comes out as as a "less is more" in many cases. Also have done a few stocker kit rebuilds for people.

I do have a couple of questions that could save me a bunch of digging, I think. This is mainly about the stock iron heads, which is what I would be dealing with if and when I need to do a rebuild on my 96 RM that is currently at about 140K and still running well, but with a few oil leaks. If the trans or engine gets weak, I will pull and refresh/tweak both, I think.