GM Longroof Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  PortalPortal  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Greetings from Cordova, Illinois!

Go down 
+3
silverfox103
rcktpwrd
Madscientist
7 posters
AuthorMessage
Madscientist

Madscientist

Greetings from Cordova, Illinois! Empty
PostSubject: Greetings from Cordova, Illinois!   Greetings from Cordova, Illinois! Icon_minitimeMon Jul 13, 2020 6:35 pm

I just recently found this forum, thank you for welcoming me and for providing a place for wagon lovers to gather and share knowledge and camaraderie!  I have a 1996 Roadmaster Collectors Edition.  It was a one owner car from Florida I acquired 2 years ago with 88,000 miles.  I am up to 91,000 now.  It does not get driven often, mostly on vacations or to tow my collection of vintage aluminum boats to the river.  When I bought it the suspension was completely terrible, so I added in-spring airbags, threw the stock air shocks away and put on Bilstein shocks all around.  It still clunked and rattled up front so I replaced all of the front end components and bushings, now it rides like new again.  I replaced the water pump on the advice of my neighbor (retired Buick mechanic) and everything has been great until recently.  Last fall I took it in for detailing and when I picked it up it had a noticeable miss or vibration under acceleration.  The car was parked through winter and because of the plague I did not take it out until Memorial Day as I have been working from home and have no place to go.  I was driving to my son's house and as I was slowing to pull into his driveway the car started to knock and vibrate terribly.  I pulled over and called AAA to have the car hauled home.  I finally got around to checking it out Saturday morning.  I had my wife start the engine while I looked under the hood and I noticed that the balancer pulley was wobbling, problem