GM Longroof Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  PortalPortal  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  

New Guy from Aurora, Colorado

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
verwachst

verwachst

New Guy from Aurora, Colorado Empty
PostSubject: New Guy from Aurora, Colorado   New Guy from Aurora, Colorado Icon_minitimeThu May 20, 2021 2:19 pm

Hey Guys, I’m Gunter Kramer and I live in Aurora, Colorado. I got my 1993 Roadmaster Estate Wagon seven years ago. It has the L05 engine. I always loved wagons, and since I’m from Germany, there never was a reason to explain why. Over there, the wagon is the body style of choice. Here in the US, wagon owners are mostly perceived as weirdos. Aside from some nice comments (“My father owned one like that!”), especially at the pump, my wagon receives some strange contempt. Well, I guess they don’t know what they’re missing.
The RMW rides very nicely and is very comfy. Loads of space, too. The downside of owning such a vehicle is the total abandonment by GM regarding parts. Nothing but obsolete, discontinued, undeliverable and lo longer available.

Two months ago, the A/C compressor started leaking. Thankfully, the system has been converted to R134a many years ago, so I thought that would be a cheap fix. Little did I know, the lowest estimate was for $800 because nobody wants to just replace the compressor. At the least, they charge for the dryer and the orifice tube. The flushing and refilling go extra.

Just to cover all bases, I went to Len Lyall Chevrolet on 14500 E Colfax Ave. They flat-out refused to work on my car. “Only 20 years or younger vehicles”, I was told. Even explaining that that repair was a slam dunk for a Chevrolet dealer, and that I could give them the part number for the compressor and dryer didn’t help.