GM Longroof Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  PortalPortal  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Horn , Again...

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
zonaman

zonaman

Horn , Again... Empty
PostSubject: Horn , Again...   Horn , Again... Icon_minitimeWed Apr 17, 2024 11:19 pm

It seems I've got the same issue that so many others have: Worn out horn pads that cause the horn to stick.  I'm the newbie here so I haven't seen an answer to what seems to be an obvious solution:  A professionally refurbished airbag module.  There must a reason that, aside from the expense, puts the kibosh on this solution; so someone kindly explain to me what I'm ignorant of.  Then of course,  what does one do with an old, presumably functioning airbag?  There is a light at the end of this tunnel for me however.  I've looked at what other folks have done and I've come up with what I feel is an elegant solution.  It's surprisingly simple and involves so slight a modification to the existing wheel that it will hardly be distinguishable from stock.  It can also be removed in such a way as to make almost impossible to see it was ever done.  I'll post pictures if and when I do it.
Back to top Go down
Rev Bob

Horn , Again... Empty
PostSubject: Re: Horn , Again...   Horn , Again... Icon_minitimeThu Apr 18, 2024 5:50 am

""There must a reason that, aside from the expense,""

You have the answer. Many have come up with alternatives to avoid this expense, Having had my own Wagon since new, I have replaced this module twice.

Reverend Bob

zonaman likes this post

Back to top Go down
zonaman

zonaman

Horn , Again... Empty
PostSubject: Re: Horn , Again...   Horn , Again... Icon_minitimeThu Apr 18, 2024 11:20 am

Thanks. Guess the old axiom applies:"Follow the money..."
Back to top Go down
zonaman

zonaman

Horn , Again... Empty