GM Longroof Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  PortalPortal  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Belt Line Trim Removal Advice

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage

Belt Line Trim Removal Advice Empty
PostSubject: Belt Line Trim Removal Advice   Belt Line Trim Removal Advice Icon_minitimeSat Jul 30, 2011 10:30 pm

I have a 94 Roadmaster Wagon and I am in the process of removing the belt line trim from the car so I can peel the woodgrain off. When removing the front door trim, I noticed that the clips or mounts are different and I am not sure how to remove them. I want to re-install the trim later so I do not want to damage the clips or the car in the process. Has anyone removed these? How do you remove these?

Belt Line Trim Removal Advice Dsc00612
Back to top Go down
1993 Roady-man

1993 Roady-man

PostSubject: Re: Belt Line Trim Removal Advice   Belt Line Trim Removal Advice Icon_minitimeMon Aug 01, 2011 4:33 pm

ok 2 ways you can do this:

1) use a small screw and screw it into the black plastic rivet center. The screw is only to grab the plastic rivet, then pull on it.
OR
2) take the door panel off and pop the center of the plastic rivert outward.
Back to top Go down
Fred Kiehl

Fred Kiehl

PostSubject: Re: Belt Line Trim Removal Advice   Belt Line Trim Removal Advice Icon_minitimeMon Aug 01, 2011 10:46 pm

They are held firmly to the door, so they will not fall off. If you want it to look "better" while the trim is off, then remove them. If you are going to reinstall the trim without painting, you could leave them there.
Back to top Go down
Studebricker

Studebricker

PostSubject: Re: Belt Line Trim Removal Advice   Belt Line Trim Removal Advice Icon_minitimeSat Sep 27, 2014 10:35 am