GM Longroof Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  PortalPortal  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Feeling a Slipping Sensation in Steering Wheel

Go down 
+2
Rev Bob
voxkd
6 posters
AuthorMessage
voxkd

Feeling a Slipping Sensation in Steering Wheel Empty
PostSubject: Feeling a Slipping Sensation in Steering Wheel   Feeling a Slipping Sensation in Steering Wheel Icon_minitimeSun Nov 04, 2018 9:46 am

I have a 95 Roadmaster Estate, basically stock, 102k miles, with the Gran Touring Suspension option.  While driving on gentle curves, and occasionally in a straight line, I sometimes feel a disconcerting slipping sensation in the steering wheel.  To best describe it, it kind of feels like how it feels when a power steering belt gets wet, and the wheel gets unresponsive until the belt get traction...only the sensation does not last very long at all...just a second or so.  When I first felt it, I wondered if it was a tire separating or other issue, but I have recently replaced all 4 tires and wheels and am still getting the sensation.  Before I had replaced the tires, I stopped into a service center and had a front end inspection, to eliminate anything obvious, but they said all seemed in good order. The belt is in good order, and there is no oil seepage or wetness on that business end of the system.  I do not seem to be able to recreate the issue on demand, and it does not seem to happen more in tight curves or under greater demand, etc...usually just when tooling down the highway, changing lanes, curves, etc...

Wondering what may be causing this and how it could be resolved...and if anyone else feels anything similar on their RM.  I have full confidence in the mechanicals on my car, but the steering issue is the only thing I feel less than confident in now.  Any guidance is appreciated.  Thanks in advance.
Back to top Go down
Rev Bob