GM Longroof Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  PortalPortal  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Building a DIY ALDL Cable for 94-95 LT1 Cars

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
Garrett Crozier

Garrett Crozier

Building a DIY ALDL Cable for 94-95 LT1 Cars  Empty
PostSubject: Building a DIY ALDL Cable for 94-95 LT1 Cars    Building a DIY ALDL Cable for 94-95 LT1 Cars  Icon_minitimeThu Jan 24, 2019 6:57 pm

Hey all,

There has been other threads here, on the Impala SS forum, and other corners of the web, but I wanted to pull some of that info together, and share my experience. Perhaps it will be helpful to others. I am not a electronics expert, and I assume I am not in the minority here.

My cable, which I had for many years from Red Devil River, started acting up a few months ago. I had to put pressure on the adapter to make it connect to the computer, and after bricking a PCM as a result, I decided to make my own.

First, this is the post I referenced. Good info to start.
https://www.firebirdnation.com/forums/topic/457761-make-an-obd1-cable-for-under-20/#entry888714

Note that 94/95 cars should be a 12 pin OBD connector. If you aren't sure, count the pins under the dash.

Essentially, what you have to do is convert the serial data coming out of your obd port to something your computer can read through it's usb port.
FTDI is one of the most popular companies making these converters. What we are looking for is an FT232RL chipset. I went with this unit. it is easy to wire, has a protective case, and is on Amazon prime, so it comes quickly, as opposed to many of the cheaper ones you will find coming from China and abroad.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07BBPX8B8/ref=dp_prsubs_1