GM Longroof Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  PortalPortal  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  

RMW "Sail Panel" Removal

Go down 
+3
81X11
silverfox103
sherlock9c1
7 posters
AuthorMessage

RMW "Sail Panel" Removal Empty
PostSubject: RMW "Sail Panel" Removal   RMW "Sail Panel" Removal Icon_minitimeSun May 08, 2011 10:36 pm

I have a '94 Roadmaster Wagon and the paint is flaking off of the plastic sail panels on the rear doors and in front of the quarter glass. I appreciate any removal and re-installation tips. I want to remove and repaint them.
Thanks,
Bob
Back to top Go down
sherlock9c1

PostSubject: Re: RMW "Sail Panel" Removal   RMW "Sail Panel" Removal Icon_minitimeSun May 08, 2011 11:02 pm

Two phillips head screws on the backside, one on the top, one on the bottom. Then gently pry it right off. I would recommend you use windshield urethane adhesive to secure it back on. It will become permanently part of the door after this, but you will never have to worry about it blowing off.
Back to top Go down
silverfox103
silverfox103

PostSubject: Re: RMW "Sail Panel" Removal   RMW "Sail Panel" Removal Icon_minitimeMon May 09, 2011 12:02 am

Do not pry them off! Remove the 2 screws and then pull them away from the door (towards the rear fender, so to speak). If you pry them off, you will snap off the fingers that lock in. You don not want to do that. For the ones on the quarter glass pull them towards the door.

Tom C.
Back to top Go down

PostSubject: Re: RMW "Sail Panel" Removal   RMW "Sail Panel" Removal Icon_minitimeMon May 09, 2011 6:38 am

Thanks for the replies. Is there an adhesive helping hold them in place? I had removed the screws and it seemed as if there was something else holding them.
Bob
Back to top Go down
silverfox103
silverfox103