GM Longroof Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  PortalPortal  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  

What brand of gear oil do you prefer?

Go down 
+2
gmtech
scoffman
6 posters
AuthorMessage
scoffman

scoffman

What brand of gear oil do you prefer? Empty
PostSubject: What brand of gear oil do you prefer?   What brand of gear oil do you prefer? Icon_minitimeFri May 04, 2012 11:12 am

Hey Guys,

I'm getting ready to replace all my wheel bearing and in the process I'll need to change the rear differential gear oil. I believe I need to use 80-90w gear oil though I haven't confirmed with my Service manual yet. I have 3.23 open differential, so I don't need the posi additive. Since this is my first time ever changing gear oil I'm not sure what brand I should use? Does anybody want to weigh in on their recommended brand and why they prefer it?

Thanks fellow enthusiasts
Back to top Go down
gmtech

gmtech

PostSubject: Re: What brand of gear oil do you prefer?   What brand of gear oil do you prefer? Icon_minitimeSat May 05, 2012 6:56 am

I really don't have a preference when it comes to gear oil, just as long as it meets the requirements of an 80W-90 fluid with a GL-5 rating.
Back to top Go down

PostSubject: Re: What brand of gear oil do you prefer?   What brand of gear oil do you prefer? Icon_minitimeSat May 05, 2012 3:05 pm

Shawn,I have been using Castrol GTX in all my cars and bikes for over 30 years with no problems.
Just make sure you clean the magnet and the housing out good just in case there are any fine
metal shards present.Brake cleen works well as long as you let it dry completely before sealing
the housing back up.
Back to top Go down
yakko

yakko

PostSubject: Re: What brand of gear oil do you prefer?   What brand of gear oil do you prefer? Icon_minitimeSat May 05, 2012 7:58 pm