GM Longroof Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  PortalPortal  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Key won't turn in tailgate, can't open glass by pushing button or using key fob

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
eagle-co94

eagle-co94

Key won't turn in tailgate, can't open glass by pushing button or using key fob Empty
PostSubject: Key won't turn in tailgate, can't open glass by pushing button or using key fob   Key won't turn in tailgate, can't open glass by pushing button or using key fob Icon_minitimeThu Jul 26, 2012 12:58 am

The button on my key fob hasn't worked since I got my '94 Roadmaster Wagon 2 days ago so I'm not too worried about that...but now I can't open the hatch glass and I'm rolling out on a road trip in it in a few days.

I could turn the key but then had trouble getting the key back out the few times I opened it. Now I can't turn the key at all and pushing the button in won't open the hatch glass. I pulled the handle on the gate from the inside and it appears to still open the gate...other than the glass stopping it from going anywhere. I presume my problem is actually the lock mechanism in the gate or is it also the hatch glass lock portion too? Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Back to top Go down
buickwagon

buickwagon

Key won't turn in tailgate, can't open glass by pushing button or using key fob Empty
PostSubject: Re: Key won't turn in tailgate, can't open glass by pushing button or using key fob   Key won't turn in tailgate, can't open glass by pushing button or using key fob Icon_minitimeThu Jul 26, 2012 9:22 am

You may be able to induce it to release by rapping the area just below and right of the button quite firmly with the palm of your hand.

I found the internal wiring of the solenoid was prone to corrosion and age. The connections are crimped rather than soldered. I wrote a repair pictorial here.