GM Longroof Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  PortalPortal  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Changing Intake Manifold Gasget TBI

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
scoffman

scoffman

Changing Intake Manifold Gasget TBI Empty
PostSubject: Changing Intake Manifold Gasget TBI   Changing Intake Manifold Gasget TBI Icon_minitimeFri Mar 09, 2012 2:24 pm

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to the forum. I have a 1993 Buick Roadmaster Estate Wagon (Ms. Roadie), I've only had her since December 2011. I noticed oil leaking around the rear driver side intake manifold bolts. I decided to replace the intake manifold gaskets. Long story short. . . I have the intake off the vehicle and I'm in the process of cleaning it up. The gaskets were replaced before and I think they did a "crappy" job hence the oil leaks around the mounting bolts. Anyway. My main question is, I Have the FeltPro gasket set, are these a dry fit gasket, or will I need to use some gasket sealer? I have the Edelbrock Gasgacinch sealer but I don't know if I need to use it? Needless to say this is my first time doing an intake. What a Face

Thanks,
Shawn
Back to top Go down
jimbeau

PostSubject: Re: Changing Intake Manifold Gasget TBI   Changing Intake Manifold Gasget TBI Icon_minitimeFri Mar 09, 2012 2:50 pm

Personally, I always use a thin layer of synthetic grease when joining any two parts (except for head gaskets & the magical opti), just so the parts & gaskets can do some last minute 'alignment' as they are being torqued down. The best example I can give for doing this is (for instance) when you step out of the shower all squeaky clean, and then notice that your sphincter feels... uhhh, 'uncomfortable' because of 'misalignment' of vital polyps and no lube to allow proper 'settling in', if you catch my drift. Glad I could help. - Jim
Back to top Go down
phantom 309

phantom 309