GM Longroof Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  PortalPortal  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Ecm change

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
Sleeperwagon95

Ecm change  Empty
PostSubject: Ecm change    Ecm change  Icon_minitimeFri Feb 03, 2017 10:11 pm

I got a 95 caprice wagon lt1 obviously it's obd1 im new to modifying newer cars. There's a speed limiter on it and im wondering if the old ecm can be reprogrammed or should i get a stage 2 replacement chip i found on summit? Any other suggestions?
Back to top Go down
jasonlachapelle

jasonlachapelle

Ecm change  Empty
PostSubject: Re: Ecm change    Ecm change  Icon_minitimeFri Feb 03, 2017 10:13 pm

visit impalassforum.com

read the stickies in the tech subsections.  You will find your answers there.

don't get a chip from summit. Either get a mail order tune or the scanning/tuning software. The latter is more time consuming and has a learning curve.
Back to top Go down
Sleeperwagon95

Ecm change  Empty
PostSubject: Re: Ecm change    Ecm change  Icon_minitimeFri Feb 03, 2017 10:59 pm

If i download software like that I'm assuming ill need a tuner then? Those are as much and often more expensive than the chips that's why i thought about it. So im assuming then the original can be reprogrammed? Ill check out the other forum and see what they say thanks
Back to top Go down
jasonlachapelle

jasonlachapelle

Ecm change  Empty
PostSubject: Re: Ecm change    Ecm change  Icon_minitimeFri Feb 03, 2017 11:10 pm

the software is free ($EE hack). The cable is very cheap, 25-50$ tops.

The pcm can be reprogrammed. You can mail it out to the tuner or get the tune via email if you have the cable to load it. Usually cheaper to buy the cable vs the cost of shipping.

a few tuners:
pcmperformance.com (Alex Rutenberg)
lt1pcmtuning.com (Solomon K)