GM Longroof Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  PortalPortal  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Help with engine performance diagnostics - 1996

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
Haze5736

Help with engine performance diagnostics - 1996 Empty
PostSubject: Help with engine performance diagnostics - 1996   Help with engine performance diagnostics - 1996 Icon_minitimeMon Jul 01, 2019 7:48 pm

I feel like my exhaust has been smelling a little rich lately so I decided to try my hand at some diagnostics. I have a scanner connected to a laptop and started out looking at some 02 sensor and fuel trim data. I'm new at this and was hoping someone could help guide me along. I don't think the car is running particularly bad. It could probably be a little smoother while holding the rpms at about 1500.

My upstream O2 sensors were both fluctuating between about 0.10v and about 0.80v. And they seemed to be moving quickly. My scan tool is not the fastest but it seemed quick enough. The upstreams seemed normal to me based on my limited knowledge. Both downstream O2 sensors were steady at about 0.12v. I'm pretty sure this is a problem.

Bank 1 short term fuel trim was between -1.56 and -3.12 and long term was 4.68. Bank 2 short term was between -0.78 and -2.34 with long term at 14.04. Bank 2 long term seems a little high to me.

I do not have any codes set, current or history. Although, I did recently have the battery disconnected for the better part of a day while I repaired one of my door panels. But there was no engine light on prior to that. I would have thought an O2 sensor that was pegged at 0.12v would throw a code.

Any suggestions on next steps? Should I try testing the downstream O2 sensors and check the integrity of the wires? I think I remember seeing a video on how to test O2 sensors somewhere. Anything else I should be looking at?

Thanks.