GM Longroof Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  PortalPortal  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  

plastic burning smell and now no heat from AC - HELP?

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
Dutch-Bob

plastic burning smell and now no heat from AC - HELP? Empty
PostSubject: plastic burning smell and now no heat from AC - HELP?   plastic burning smell and now no heat from AC - HELP? Icon_minitimeTue Apr 06, 2021 4:37 pm

Exactly, on my 1995 Caprice Classic, the heater does not generate no heat anymore after a ride with my wife, when we smelled a plastic burn like odor...
You do not want your wife in the car on such moments....
Heat set at maximum will only generate somewhat warm air from the motor compartment to get into the cabin, clearly not from the AC/heater.
Is there a heater element in the dash to be replaced or so?
Unfortunately I am not a mechanic, so I am in the blue here.
Anybody there to offer help....pleeeeeeease?
Thank you in advance!
Back to top Go down
https://www.electronicatools.com
Fred Kiehl

Fred Kiehl

PostSubject: Re: plastic burning smell and now no heat from AC - HELP?   plastic burning smell and now no heat from AC - HELP? Icon_minitimeWed Apr 07, 2021 10:18 pm

The heater core is accessed from under the passenger's side of the dash. It has a hidden screw along the firewall.