GM Longroof Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  PortalPortal  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Clear Coating Alloys

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
DBeaSSt
Admin
DBeaSSt

Clear Coating Alloys Empty
PostSubject: Clear Coating Alloys   Clear Coating Alloys Icon_minitimeThu Nov 26, 2009 9:57 pm

Okay, since firewood is bored.... Wink

I have a set of OE Roadmaster alloys. Sooner or later they will get a nice set of OE size Cooper whitewalls and be mounted on the 96. My question is this. The wheels are in good shape, no road rash, etc. However, the clear coat isn't perfect. I'd like to have them redone. Yous guys have any tips on where I should look to have them cleared? Would a regular body shop be capable of doing a quality job here? I don't see why not at it's clear coat, similar to what goes over paint. Right?

Comments? Suggestions?
Back to top Go down
http://www.prosise.name
firewood

firewood

PostSubject: Re: Clear Coating Alloys   Clear Coating Alloys Icon_minitimeSat Nov 28, 2009 10:51 pm

Heck yes a body shop COULD do them, but in most major cities there are wheel repair shops that do the process regularly and have more experience. Further, I belive there's a thread on this forum about stripping and polishing wheels... that might help.

I'm eventually gonna strip and polish mine- and add gangster whitewalls. I'm just crazy like that.
Back to top Go down
DBeaSSt
Admin
DBeaSSt

PostSubject: Re: Clear Coating Alloys   Clear Coating Alloys Icon_minitimeSun Nov 29, 2009 7:45 am

Yeah, I figured I could do the stripping myself. I want to have them clear coated again though so I guess that's my real question. Is there any difference between clear coating the paint on a car and clearing an alloy wheel? If there isn't any, then a body shop could probably do it just as well as a wheel shop. Just thinking out loud I guess. Smile